What Are the Consequences of a Conviction for a Refusal Charge Prior to the Dec. 1, 2019 Change of Law?
Every state has slightly different penalties for a Refusal conviction.
Here is a list of penalties that you will face if you receive a refusal conviction in New Jersey under N.J.S.A. 39:4-50.4a or 39:4-50.2:
Possible DWI Penalties in New Jersey – 39:4-50:
- No jail time, unlike with a DWI charge
- Fines between $300 and $2,000
- 30 days of community service overseen by a probation officer for some cases
- Requirements to attend Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC) classes for up to 48 consecutive hours
- Suspension of your driver’s license from 7 months to 20 years
- Suspension of your commercial driver’s license for 1 year to a lifetime suspension
- Suspension of your commercial driver’s license with hazmat provision for 3 years to a lifetime suspension
- Jail time (and increased driver’s license suspension) if you are caught for driving when your driver’s license is suspended for a refusal
- No option for an occupational limited driver’s license or work driver’s license – which means you absolutely cannot drive if convinced of a DWI charge and receive a suspension of your driver’s license as a result
- Required installation of an ignition interlock device (IID) between 13 months and 23 years
- Surcharge of $1000 annually for 3 years (unless you live out of state)
- A Refusal conviction will remain on your New Jersey driving record forever
- You will also face penalties from your car insurance company, which can include raising your rates or even dropping your coverage after you are convicted of a refusal
Contact us today to arrange a consultation with our experienced DWI Defense Attorney in Cherry Hill ,NJ
For more information about DWI And Refusal Penalty Chart, please click here.